Go to whole of WA Government search

Scams Awareness Network

The Department of Energy, Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety is a part of a national group aimed at tackling fraud and scams.

The Scams Awareness Network (SAN), formerly the Australasian Consumer Fraud Taskforce, established in March 2005, is composed of 22 Government regulatory agencies and departments who have responsibility for consumer protection in relation to frauds and scams.

The purpose of the SAN is to work together to enhance the Australian and New Zealand Governments’ enforcement activity against frauds and scams, to create a yearly co-ordinated information campaign for consumers timed to coincide with Global Consumer Fraud Prevention Month and to also involve the private sector in that initiative, and to share information and generate greater interest in research on consumer frauds and scam

The members of SAN are:

Australian Government

Attorney General’s Department

Australian Bureau of Statistics

Australian Communications and Media Authority

Australian Competition & Consumer Commission (Chair)

Australian Institute of Criminology

Australian Securities & Investment Commission

Australian Federal Police (represented by the Australian High Tech Crime Centre)

Department of Communications

State and Territory Governments

Western Australia – Department of Energy, Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety 

Australian Capital Territory – Office of Regulatory Services - Fair Trading

New South Wales – Office of Fair Trading

New South Wales - Police Fraud Squad

Northern Territory – Consumer Affairs

Queensland – Office of Fair Trading

Queensland - Police Service

South Australia – Office of Consumer & Business Affairs

State and Territory Police Commissioners

Tasmania – Office of Consumer Affairs & Fair Trading

Victoria - Consumer Affairs

New Zealand Government

NZ Commerce Commission

Ministry of Consumer Affairs